All 50 states have some version of ignition interlock device law If you have a DUI or an OWI conviction. It is important to understand the nature of these laws and the consequences of driving under the influence.
Indiana is a state which may choose to impose an ignition interlock device requirement if the courts convict a driver of driving under the influence. According to FindLaw, it is possible to need an ignition interlock device if you receive a DUI conviction for the first time.
What is an ignition interlock device?
An ignition interlock device is a breathalyzer that a third-party company installs in your car. Whenever you want to start your vehicle, you will need to breathe into the ignition interlock device. The device will be able to detect any alcohol on your breath. If you have been consuming alcohol, the car will not start.
Once the ignition interlock device allows the car to start, you will also need to breathe into the device periodically to prove that you have not consumed alcohol since you started the car.
How long will I need an ignition interlock device?
If this is your first DUI, the courts may require you to have an ignition interlock device for up to 180 days. This is the maximum amount of time that the state of Indiana may suspend your license for a first-time offense. If this is your second offense, the courts may require you to install an ignition interlock device for up to 2 years, but the state will suspend your license first for 180 days.